Unilever board changes

Unilever today announced changes to its Board.

Rudy Markham, 60, Chief Financial Officer, will retire at the Annual General Meetings in May 2007 after a long and distinguished career at Unilever. Rudy joined the Board in 1998 as Strategy and Technology Director becoming Chief Financial Officer in 2000. His successor will be announced in due course.

Lynda Chalker, Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Corporate Responsibility and Reputation Committee, will also be retiring at the Annual General Meetings in May 2007, having served three terms of three years. Lynda joined the Board as an Advisory Director in 1998 becoming a Non-Executive Director in 2004.

Three new Non-Executive Directors will be proposed for election at the Annual General Meetings in Rotterdam on 15th May and in London on 16th May 2007.

Genevieve Berger, a Professor of Biophysics and Medical Imaging at Paris University VI. Prof. Berger is also Chairman of the Advisory Board "Health" for the EU Commissioner for Research. She was until 2003 Director General of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Narayana Murthy, co-founder and Chairman of Infosys Technologies Limited. Mr Murthy has led key corporate governance initiatives in India. He is, amongst other things, a member of the Asia Pacific Advisory Board of BT Group Plc.

Hixonia Nyasulu, is a Non-Executive Director of Sasol Limited and Anglo Platinum and an Advisory Board Member of JP Morgan South Africa. She was previously a Non-Executive Director of Development Bank of South Africa.

Unilever previously announced in January that Michael Treschow will succeed Antony Burgmans as Chairman, following his election to the Board.

Patrick Cescau said: "I would like to take this opportunity to thank Rudy for his excellent contribution to the business. He has been a tremendous colleague, and an astute and highly effective CFO."

Lord Simon, Chairman of the Nomination Committee said: "Unilever is delighted with these outstanding candidates as they further strengthen the expertise and independence of the Board and, of course, bring diversity of background and experience".

Antony Burgmans said: "I would also like to thank Lynda for her wise counsel, particularly her expert knowledge of issues in Developing markets. I would also like to welcome Genevieve Berger, Narayana Murthy and Hixonia Nyasulu to the Board.  Together their experience and background will be of enormous value to the business."

Unilever requires all Directors to offer themselves for re-election at the Annual General Meeting each year. The following Directors will therefore be offering themselves for re-election: Leon Brittan, Patrick Cescau, Wim Dik, Charles Golden, Kees van der Graaf, Byron Grote, Ralph Kugler, David Simon, Jean-Cyril Spinetta, Kees Storm and Jeroen van der Veer.

Unilever PLC

100 Victoria Embankment

+44 (0) 20 7822 5252